It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environment, such as South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that today people can visit extremely distant regions for exploration and research. While human activities may cause undesirable effects on those environments, I believe that this practice is more likely to yield more benefits. There are several benefits to bringing more people to the far-flung corners of the world. The first one comes from tourism which is likely to thrive in such exotic locations. In reality, there have been tourist activities in Antartica which attract thousands of people each year. The flourishing industry in turn provides job opportunities and stimulates the development of other services such as food production and retail. Furthermore, trips to pristine natural environments teach people to appreciate a clean and healthy environment and raise their awareness of the threats their living spaces are facing. Finally, from the scientific perspective, these unspoiled natural areas are ideal places for scientists to learn more about the planet Earth, for example, its formation and the process of climate change that it has been undergoing. On the other hand, humans’ presence in these places possibly has a negative impact on their ecosystems. In fact, these territories are extremely fragile and vulnerable to contamination and disturbance. Waste disposal, when done poorly, will severely harm the habitat of different flora and fauna species. Moreover, it is inevitable that industrialists and businessmen would cut down a large number of trees or level out lands to provide accommodation and other infrastructures for tourists. Fortunately, places like the South Pole are considered the common heritage of mankind, and therefore there are stringent international laws that forbid any practices that may harm these environments. In conclusion, I would argue that the advantages of making expeditions to remote areas for tourism and scientific studies do outweigh the disadvantages.