In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them.

As the economy and society make advancements, the health condition of the public seems to present some new problems. This is particularly true in developed countries, where people tend to get heavier and develop a variety of health issues. In my opinion, the main reasons for such phenomenon consist in the lack of exercise and the unbalanced diet resulted from city life. To tackle the issue, governments and individuals all have a part to play. First of all, the lifestyle of urban areas should be blamed for the deterioration of public health. Office work involves less physical activity and makes employees remain seated during most of the working hours. Other than that, the cooking methods of the food eaten by city dwellers oftentimes involve a lot of oil, salt and sugar. A typical example is fast food, such as pizzas piled with sausages and deep-fried onion rings, which gives rise to dangerously high blood sugar and drives up body fat. However, solutions are not scarce. Public institutions can help by incorporating more physical education in the national curriculum, as doing so can inspire the next generation to be more physically active. Also, individuals can start by rejecting junk food and establishing a lighter diet under the instruction of nutritionists. I personally have been following a low-sugar diet for more than five years, which involves a lot of fish and vegetables and very few processed products. As a result, I am able to stay in shape and rarely catch diseases. To sum up, the flaws in the modern lifestyle have been culpable of people’s increasing weight and deteriorating health. The solution to this problem lies in the hand of both the public and the private sector.