It is important for all towns and cities to have large public spaces such as squares and parks. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is true that large public facilities such as parks and other open spaces have beneficial effects on living conditions. However, I disagree with the idea that every urban area should have such spaces; some cities are obliged to tend to other much-needed infrastructure and service improvement. The presence of squares and parks certainly produces many benefits. Firstly, these places promote exercise among city dwellers, bringing a positive change to their sedentary lifestyle. Moreover, such green spaces regulate air temperature and absorb atmospheric pollutants, which helps reduce health risks inherent in many cities and towns. Secondly, public venues can be used for important events and holidays, or as tourist attractions that help generate incomes and boost local economies. Times Square in New York City, for example, attracts millions of visitors a year, and it is considered one of the major economic drivers for the city. Nevertheless, it would be impractical to make public spaces an absolute necessity because some cities are faced with more urgent issues which should be prioritised. As people move to cities for jobs, there is an urgent need for living spaces. Therefore, instead of using lands for huge public spaces, city officials may use them to provide accommodation for the increasing population. Also, constructing and maintaining public facilities can take up a significant portion of a city budget, which otherwise can be used for more pressing needs of urban residents. For instance, it is more important for some cities to build more hospitals or combat unemployment rather than create recreational places for the public. In conclusion, I do not believe that all cities need to invest in building public places as some have to allocate their space and financial resources for weightier matters.