Many people believe that formal "pen and paper"examinations are not the best method of assessing educational achievement. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over many years, students academic achievements have been determined through their performance in a traditional paper-based examination. Many people, however, argue that this traditional method may not be the best way to assess the educational capabilities of pupils. I agree that in order to fairly judge the knowledge of pupils the current pen and paper-based process is not apt. In this essay, I will try to prove the inefficiency of the present evaluation method of scholars with the help of lucid examples. One of the primary reasons why the formal approach of evaluating pupils ' merit is inappropriate is that these exams are time-bound. For instance, most schools conduct a three-hour-long examination for each subject. Due to which many times the bright minds also fail to do time management or fail to write fast and perform poorly in the exam. Therefore, as this technique of assessing pupils is time-restricted, examinees are sometimes unable to give their best. Moreover, another downside of the paper-based examination is that they have mostly direct questioning which is testing pupil's memorizing power and not their logical understanding. For instance, some juniors have a phenomenal memory and although they do not know the concept thoroughly, still they are able to answer the query in exams and score good marks. Thus, it is hard to determine children's capability via conducting traditional examinations. Nevertheless, these paper-based examinations can help in evaluating the merit of a student as they have questioning from any part of their syllabus. For instance, pupils can only answer the query if they have gone through their academic books and have some understanding of the subject. Thus it can help to analyse pupil educational strength to some extent. To sum up, it is clearly proven from the above analysis that the regular way of assessing scholar educational merit is not adequately sufficient. Factors such as exam pressure of performing within the given time and low memorizing strength may lower the performance of pupils in exams. Therefore the different approaches of evaluation such as class assignment performance, use case solution design and practical demonstration should be rather used as the tool for evaluating scholar educational strength.