Some people believe that international free-car days are effective ways to reduce air pollution. However, others argue that there are several other ways that are more effective: Discuss both views & give your own opinion.

The environment has always aroused much concern from the public. Some people propose free-car days as a way to minimize air pollution while others believe that there are some more effective solutions. Although I agree that free-car days can bring certain benefits, I am also of the opinion that more sustainable methods should be done to reduce pollution. Advocates of the no-car-day program see the immediate advantages this scheme may bring. First of all, the air quality can be improved. It is obvious that emissions from vehicles are the main cause of air pollution because they contain a relatively high amount of pollutants. By having some days without toxic gases released into the atmosphere, people will have better air to live in. Besides positive environmental impacts, this program also has educational values. Once the free-car days program is widely recognized, people will be more aware of the importance of saving the environment. On the other hand, the environmental problems caused by vehicles should be tackled in the long run by more sustainable solutions. The ultimate aim of these methods is to cut down on or eliminate the fuels consumption. The first step is to encourage the use of public transports, by which the number of vehicles on the road may reduce. In addition, the most effective way may be replacing fossil fuels with environmentally-friendly energy sources such as solar power, wind power. In conclusion, it is good to have some days when cars are prohibited. However, the problems with transports should be treated from different angles and by more long-term plans.