NOWADAYS YOUNG PEOPLE ARE LEAVING THEIR HOMES FROM RURAL AREAS TO STUDY OR WORK IN THE CITIES. WHY DOES THIS HAPPEN ? DO ADVANTAGES OF THE DEVELOPMENT OUTWEIGH ITS DISADVANTAGES?

In today’s society, the young prefer living in crowded cities to staying at their hometown in rural areas. This happens due to one main reason which will be revealed in this essay and generally, in my opinion, the drawbacks are much more clearly than the benefits. To be more specific, the main cause for the movement of young people is that obviously, in big cities, there are greater chances and better conditions for them to develop their careers, such as higher education, more provision of sufficient job opportunities and modern technology. It is the human instinct in seeking betterment so they usually make decisions that seem to be more beneficial for their future. However, this massive human movement also creates various negative effects, especially on the environment. First of all, due to the overcrowded population in large cities, air and water pollution are getting worse than ever. For example, in Ha Noi capital, West Lake and To Lich river were totally destroyed as citizens have been discharging an incredible amount of pollutants every single day. Moreover, in this city, the air is always dark, full of dirt and dust, which affect negatively on people’s health. Besides, too many youngers are tempted to leave their hometown, which results in uneven population distribution. As the consequence, whilst there are too many unemployed workers in urban areas and most of the residents here have to encounter a series of life pressure, the fertile land in the countrysides is wasted. In conclusion, the main cause for this movement is geographical and economical differences in life quality and it is my firm conviction that although this brings about individuals’ profit, it is significantly harmful to the environment and also results in imbalanced social development in multiple aspects.