Some people think governments should spend money looking for life on other planets, while others think that there are many unsolved problems on earth. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Many people believe that the governments should invest money to explore the existence of life on other planets, whilst others think that there are numerous issues on the earth that could be resolved with that budget. In my opinion, there are countless people on earth starving to death due to poverty which is the need of the hour that every government should heavily focus on. Although advancements in technology is important but in terms of budgeting, this should be deprioritized over the former. To start with, countless students on this globe are interested in researching about various planets as a part of their studies and their keenness in scientific innovations. Moreover, to fulfil such objectives, there is a large monetary reserve for science & technology with the councils. Each country assists their students to move forward in this space by equipping them with expensive tools and services as required. For example, recently, The Strait Times of Singapore reported that six students from National University of Singapore invented a pencil that can be used in space for which the university had spend S$200,000. On the other hand, the developing countries records an exponential rise in the percentage of people dying due to malnutrition every year. Although this number is wrongly reported by a few countries to not highlight the declining growth, but the death rate due to poverty is a contrary evidence of the same. Furthermore, instead of spending on the development of the poverty-stricken, the local corporations utilize that money to either fill up their pockets or spend on something such as building of temples and worship places that brings them recognition immediately rather than progressively. These savings could be used to create better earning capacities for the impoverished. For instance, in 2019 a state in India reported an expenditure of about $500,000 in building a Hindu temple which was opposed by the Muslim community. In conclusion, it is beneficial to allocate public funds primarily to uplift the deprived section of the society. Nevertheless, a lesser proportion of the funding shall be granted to the upcoming scientists to boost their career aspirations as well.