During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards a variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student’s ability. To what extent do you agree with this belief? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The world of education has been evolving along with time. There have been huge changes in our educational system over the past few decades. A lot of academic institutions have changed their ideas on how to assess students. Many new contemporary ideas are coming out on daily basis as to how can they simplify the assessment process for pupils. Below I am giving my opinion as to how the education system has seen a drastic change over a couple of decades and why I am agreeing with this method. Over the last few,years examination patterns have taken a huge turn. In the olden,days there was this conventional method where kids needed to bury themselves into the books, in order to pass a test. Kids used to mug up the whole textbook or material in order to score good marks. For instance - When my parents were pursuing their education, their way of assessment has been 180 degrees from the way we have been assessed. The exam patterns have changed over the span,there have been changes in the syllabus. Before everyone used to by-heart from word to word, comma to comma. This just shows how much a student can learn by heart. It doesn't assess his academic prowess. However, in the present day, the scenario is completely different from the olden times. Now students are being evaluated on different bases such as project works, chart works, group discussion and many more. For example - when I was about to write my boards, there was a new method that was introduced into the curriculum to evaluate us. This method was known as an open book test where we were allowed to use textbooks or a certain material that was related to the subject. We thought it was going to be a piece of cake, but the exam was completely different than what we would have expected. We did use the material to find the answers, but we needed to understand the application given in the material analyse it and then bridge it with the question and write our understanding. This method not only helped us understand the process of application but also helped us to make sure that we identified the connection, bridged the gap and integrated it with other aspects. Hence, it not only helped me understand this concept but also helped to integrate an application of one subject to the other. It even enhanced my analytical skills and also made me wonder and question the workings of certain things in the world. To sum up, in my opinion, I agree that contemporary methods to measure up a pupils knowledge will help both the kid and the teacher understand as to how much can the students grasp the knowledge about the workings of the world.