Some feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some,individuals the majority of food consumed by a country should be locally produced while avoiding a purchase from other nations to a greater extent. I partially agree with this notion and the logical reasons behind my partial agreement is discussed in the following paragraphs. On one side, the reason why producing the maximum food items within the country and avoiding imports as much as possible is that a huge expenditure is involved in purchasing consumables from the international market. It means, a heft import tax and other charges are to be paid by while importing when a bulk of food items are demanded by a home country. Also, such goods are sold at a higher price by exporters due to their monopoly in the international market. Consequently, a significant impact on the economy of a nation can certainly be observed in order to to satisfy the food requirement of a nation. Whereas, if the majority of food items are produced locally and a little part is imported, a drastic reduction in the expensive charges paid during import can be observed. This is because the major food requirement would be satisfied by its in-house production itself. For instance, by observing the increment in the consumption of coffee, India has now initiated coffee farming in the southern part which satisfies a demand of a major chunk of people and the quantity of coffee beans imported from South Africa is declined from 67% to 13%. Such saving is further invested to escalate the farming of a coffee in the nation. On the other hand, sometimes due to unfavourable climatic conditions the production of a specific consumable becomes extremely challenging for countries. As a result, an import seems to be a convenient option instead of investing billions to establish artificial production houses which are costly and their output is very limited. For instance, the production of Mushrooms has been initiated by Turkey to satisfy the requirement of their nation, however, due to cold temperature, the production was not possible which is why they came up with the idea of importing complete quantity from Vietnam. Therefore, when the weather conditions are unfavourable for the production of any particular consumable, a country can certainly import the majority instead of attempting to produce locally. Conclusively, import involves many expenses which is why a country must produce consumables locally to reduce import requirements, however, when the weather conditions do not favour the production, the import of the majority of items to satisfy local needs becomes a wise decision.