The number of cars has increased significantly in major cities. What problems does this cause and what are some solutions to these problems?

The number of vehicles, including automobiles, cars, trucks, buses, trolleybuses, shuttle buses used in public transportation, delivery of goods and for personal purposes has dramatically risen throughout the last decades. This essay will first suggest that the most pressing issue brought about by this phenomenon is the air pollution contributing to the deterioration of the environment and climate change and then submit using biofuels as the most viable solution. The foremost problem caused by the growing amount of vehicles is the contamination of the environment. Massive CO2 emissions deplete the ozone layer protecting our planet from the adverse effects of ultra-violet radiation. Moreover, they contribute to the greenhouse effect resulting in rising temperatures, global warming, shifting of climate and precipitation patterns, the disturbance of animals' natural habitats and lead to an increasing number of calamities like floods, avalanches, heavy thunderstorms, rising sea levels, tornadoes and tsunami, which, in turn, are likely to cause more significant immediate damage. Not to mention the ailments and diseases directly incited by the poor air conditions. Thus, carbon dioxide emissions coming from burning fossil fuels in different branches of the economy, including transportation, have already worsened our environment and are continuing to aggravate the existing problems. For example, transportation accounted for 29 per cent of all greenhouse gas emissions in 2017 in the U.S., the same case applies to the European countries, and even if we can't physically see the effects of this phenomenon it incrementally affects every dimension of our lives. A possible solution to this problem would be to replace the fossil fuels used in transportation with biodiesels, since they are less detrimental to the environment and relatively easy to produce. Biofuel is made through the contemporary processes from biomass, rather than by the extremely slow geological processes involved in the formation of fossils, such as oil. Biofuel does not require the engine modification of the vehicle and is extremely helpful in mitigation of the greenhouse effect and carbon fixation. For instance, in 2019 biofuels provided 3% of the world's fuels for road transport and the International Energy Agency expects biofuels to meet more than a quarter of world demand for transportation fuels by 2050. To conclude, the rising amount of transportation means for the last decades and corresponding environmental degradation is one of the most critical challenges the humanity faces and its devastating ramifications can be observed right now, but a possible solution could be substitution of the fossil fuels in the industry and transportation by renewable energy sources, especially biofuels, which are regarded as the best means to alleviate the impact of the greenhouse gas emissions.