Many people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had huge negative effect on individuals and society. To what extent do you agree?

Social networking websites are considered to have destructive consequences on people and the society by the majority. I partially agree to this statement and the reasons of my partial agreement are discussed in the following paragraphs. On one hand, it is indeed the fact that the social networking has become an addiction. It means that the majority of leisure time of an individual is devoted to scrolling the news feeds and chatting with people. As a result, users are glued to such sites as an immense pleasure is experienced by them when they utilize the features of social media. In addition, few fake posts and comments by some individuals leads to social disputes. This is because since the people of every country and religion exist on social media, it becomes the most effective platform to execute the intentional disputes among religions and societies by posting the offensive contents. For instance, a post shared by an Individual of an unreal execution of the Indian citizen in an Islamic country lead Indians to protest against that nation which subsequently was ended when that post was found untrue. On the other hand, there are myriad ways in which the expsoure to the social media has been beneficial for both individuals as well as society. Firstly, the communication barrier due to the long distances between people is eliminated. It means, no matter in which nation our loved ones are residing at, they can easily be contacted through voice call, chat, and vedio calls on platforms like Facebook and twitter. In addition, a feature of being able to interact with any person irrespective of the nation he or she belongs to, minimizes cultural gaps and brings different societies together. Therefore, social network usage has brought people and culture together. In conclusion, it is indeed the fact that the social media has become an addiction and also provides a platform to for the execution of some severe disputes in society, however, the communication gaps are entirely bridged while bringing the different socities together.