In many coutries students take break of a year before entering into universities. What are the advantages and disadvantages.

Today, having a year off before going to higher education levels is one of the common things for university students in many nations.On the one hand, learning new skills in the workplace and earning enough money for the rest of the education path are the main benefits of not going to university immediately, on the other facing health problems and losing the passion for having a higher education are the main drawbacks. Working as an intern in relevant fields in some companies before entering the university will bring practical skills to pupils. Also, having a stable monetary situation is one of the key elements for college students when they have part-time jobs. Firstly, Some college students are hired as junior employees to work for some specific companies free of charge where they can be faced with real problems. So, they can learn practical skills which will be used as an important element in their future study field. Secondly,sometimes students are funded partially or get paid by their company.So, their financial situation will be strong enough. As a result, they can participate in their courses without concern about their monetary situation. However, students always be in danger of losing their enthusiasm for exceeding their journey to universities and facing different mental and physical problems. If the money that is paid as a wage to interns is sufficient for them, pupils would enjoy this situation and drop out the college before attending it. Furthermore, some of them just stay at home without doing anything. So, this situation would bring laziness to them with the danger of facing different mental disorders. For instance, a survey conducted in 2007 between 200 college students in Iran and the result showed that students who stayed at home for a year were more depressed rather than other students. In conclusion, having a job after finishing high school is not only beneficial for students in terms of earning practical skills but also can bring some money for them to fund themselves. However, they are always in danger of losing their passion for going to college or facing different health problems by staying at home for a year.