Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge. Write at least 250 words.

This has been common nowadays to hear the general populace decrying the number of choices people have relative to the past and proclaiming the drawbacks of so many easily available options in a variety of areas in life. While I think that there is some truism in this, the increased choice is an ultimately positive trend because it opens up options for people outside the mainstream. The primary reason why increased choice is considered a negative development is that it makes life more complicated. One of the numerous obvious examples is often cited in the number of products that people can choose from today. Supermarkets are filled with different brands with hardly any meaningful differences. This cause consumers to waste time and effort making choices with little actual impact. This is also the case when it comes to online streaming services like HBO, Netflix, and Hulu. Not only do audiences spend time researching these sites, but once they make a choice, they are limiting what they will be able to watch in the future. If these people decided to subscribe to all of them, suddenly they will be paying upwards of $40 a month for basic viewing content. These are a couple of ways in which choice can take up our time and make life more complex. Although choice introduces a level of complexity to life, it opens up options for people outside dominant cultural trends. The best example of this is the changes that have taken place in the music industry over the last 20 years with the advent of iTunes and assorted streaming services. In the past, the big pop acts dominated radio and album sales. Now, the music scene is more much fractured. This has posed some difficulties to artists but actually widened the possibility that users can have a niche of music that other alike people also love. This trend has been replicated in other areas like podcasting, painting and film as well in which people can find what interests them outside of what major companies are trying to promote. This is why increased choice is a positive taken across the board. In conclusion, the drawbacks of wide choice cannot outweigh the advantages gained by allowing individuals to explore what interests them the most. In my opinion, this notion will continue its indifferent march forward, and present challenges, but allow for a more diverse culture for rich and poor alike all over the world.