More and more people tend to watch foreign movies, so the local government should encourage the development of local film industry. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some argue that the government should make significant investments in the local movie industry, shifting people's attention from international movies to domestic films. I partially agree with this assertion. Firstly, the advancement of the domestic film industry is conducive to the development of one country ’s economy. In other words, the progress of the local movie industry can be helpful in promoting one’s country. For instance, “Parasite”, which is one of the most successful movies in South Korea, is a representative example. In the past, South Korea was not famous for the movie industry. People used to watch international movies such as Marvel, Sony and so on. However, after the success of “Parasite” all over the world, people started to have an interest in domestic movies. Additionally, it became a good chance for South Korea to promote the country. The artistic industry has the power to advertise their own country either. Therefore, the government could advertise South Korea without promoting the country to foreign countries thanks to the widespread success of local movies. Nevertheless, it is hard for the authority to invest solely in developing local movies. If the government wants to invest, they have to use the country ’s tax revenue. However, it is impossible for them to allocate strictly large portions to local films because they have been tasked to invest not only in the movie industry but also in other sectors such as welfare, infrastructure and more. In addition, the government ’s huge investment in domestic movies does not guarantee the success of the film industry. This can provide the authority pressure with the loss of money and energy. In conclusion, I think the government has to determine how much they will invest in their local film industry according to their situation. If the priority is not the movie, they can focus on investing in other industries. However, if they have enough money or time to invest, it will be a good opportunity to advertise their country all over the world through movies.