With the rise of the internet more and more people are getting their news from social media platforms. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Digital means of communication has had a major impact on our lives. This essay will focus on how, with its usage, we receive prompt updates on current affairs and learn about the diverse points of view on any event. It will also mention why the inaccurate and biased nature of such articles, make it an unfavourable platform for us to seek information despite its abovementioned benefits. Because of its pervasive nature, online forums allow us to learn about any breaking news along with the diverse views on them from various authors. Unlike a few decades back, one does not have to switch on the TV to update himself with the latest happenings and can now merely receive instant notifications of them. Furthermore, the articles published contain different viewpoints, thereby keeping the user well-informed. For instance, by scrolling through Facebook, we can get to know of any political event and the possible repercussions that it might have on the citizens. Thus, the speed at which a story breaks as well as the varied opinions on it makes us inclined to such mediums of communication. On the other hand, information obtained through digital platforms can be highly opinionated and lack veracity. A particular blog can be biased and may not be based on actual facts. To illustrate, Facebook got embroiled in a controversy that had shown President Trump in a bad light which was not true. Therefore, online articles might not be suitable for a dedicated news seeker as they can be biased and lack authenticity. To conclude, social media platforms are being increasingly looked upon for current updates. This essay highlighted how their speed and their varied viewpoints make it a go-to platform for many However, I strongly believe that the inaccurate and judgemental nature of such articles makes it an inappropriate medium to rely on.