In order to truly innovate, continued hard work is more important than intelligence. To what extent do you agree with this statement and why?

Consistent hard work is considered to play a more vital role in innovation in comparison to intelligence.I partially agree with the above notion to a great extent and the reason for my partial agreement is discussed in the following paragraphs. On one side, the reason why hard work is given more preference than smart work when it comes to innovation is that innovation requires multiple attempts of a certain processes to reach the objective in which the intelligence of an innovator may not be that crucial. In other words, innovation is entirely transforming the existing product or technology in which a certain road map is followed by innovators. The planning may require too much intelligence, however, after a plan is designed the majority of work and the achievability of success rely upon the uninterrupted and continuous hard work of innovators. To exemplify, the plan and objective to introduce curved display smartphones was defined in the year 2016 which was just a 10% part of innovation. The engineering team on the other hand, despite multiple failed attempts, worked dedicatedly for 4 years to successfully develop its prototype in the year 2020. Hence, although intelligence may play some initial role in innovation, the hard work involved is certainly more important. On the other hand, there might be some instances where the hard work becomes less essential than intelligence for innovations. In other words, there are few instances such as the innovation of the existing covid-19 vaccine which could protect against the latest variants. There were inexperienced scientists involved in that innovation which did not bring any optimistic results despite their hard work, however, when replaced with more intelligent and experienced scientists, it did not take more than a month to introduce a vaccine named Covishield which was a lifesaver innovation for India. Therefore, in certain,cases the intelligence becomes more important than worthless hard work. In conclusion, although the achievement of innovation has heavily relied upon hard work, intelligence in few instances becomes more important than just working hard to literally achieve a success in innovation.