There is a lot of pressure on young people today to succeed academically. As a result, some people believe that non-academic subjects, such as physical education and cookery, should be removed from the school syllabus so that children can concentrate on academic work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, young people are under big pressure to achieve academic success. Some people argue that non-academic subjects such as P.E. or cookery are not necessary and need to be removed from the school syllabus to allow to concentrate pupils on academic work. Personally, I disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will describe both points of view and explain my opinion. Firstly, in various schools around the world students can face different lessons, which can have their own advantages and disadvantages. Lessons, such as physical education and cookery, give a chance to students to spend time with benefits and fun. In addition, these non-academic subjects will develop young people in other areas of life. For example, in my school, we have only physical education lessons once a week. As a result, my classmates can pay attention to physical activities, which helps us to build good connections with each other and gives opportunity to relax after a hard day. From my perspective, these lessons are much loved by students of all ages. Furthermore, non-academic subjects can provide a healthy lifestyle. For instance, cookery lessons can illustrate children's types of food cooking, healthy ingredients and cooking process, which can be very interesting for a majority of kids. In our times we have many adults who know nothing about healthy food and cooking, and as a result, it can cause illnesses. Thus, I believe that non-academic subjects will help children to choose the correct ingredients in their ration. In conclusion, I want to say that non-academic subjects are necessary in school programs because they give the opportunity to educate society and these will be very important when children become adults.