At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, while some countries reveal the increasing ageing population, several nations show the opposite trend when young people make up a higher proportion in the population pyramid in comparison with the elderly. This status brings about several undeniable benefits, but it is quite obvious that the young population triggers more drawbacks. There are certainly some positives coming together with the accelerating growth of the young in demographic status. Firstly, well-nourished and well-educated young women and men can bring unprecedented levels of growth and social progress to the region. They are physically healthy and willing to work under high pressure, which has recently become the prerequisites for outstanding productivity at work. Secondly, the young are born with a willingness to learn new things, encouraging them to adapt to non-stop changes in the world. For that reason, the nation with a high number of youngsters will never lag behind technological revolutions. However, I believe there are more potential repercussions when the young occupy a too high proportion. If we do not invest enough in education for children and young people, criminal activities will prevail. For instance, the adolescent and youth population in African countries is increasing, but most of them are not offered enough education, explaining the booming of drug smuggling or violence recorded there. Furthermore, young people are either financially dependent on their parents or at working age. This transition in demography puts more pressure on the economy because governments have to give financial support for children under 18 years old or create enough employment opportunities for people of working age. In conclusion, the domination of young people in the population comes with several benefits, my opinion is this demographic transition leads to more drawbacks.