Shops should not be allowed to sell any food or drinks that have been scientifically proven to be bad for people’s health. 🔸 To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Most of the public, would agree that food and drinks which have been proven by science to be marked as unhealthy to be consumed by humans, should be banned by health related associations. Even though it is difficult to be applied, as labelling a product healthy or not healthy, depends on evidence-based scientific research studies. As studies are conducted each year with different results, one study can prove this is healthy while another study supports the opposite, which makes it not easy work to be made by decision-makers. There are known products that are unhealthy and they are not allowed to be sold or be part of any food related items, such as cancerogenic proven additives, they are prohibited in most of the countries around the world. Some people argue that do not prevent selling them in shops and let the consumers decide what they want to buy. This should not be allowed as this can lead to health-related issues, which then will put more burden on the health care system, which can be avoided in the first place by banning the companies from selling products that can affect human lives. Some countries started to educate people about how to read nutrition food labels of products, which will help them to identify what is the safe amount to be in a food item for example how much grams of salt, sugar or fat there are. Also, the government need to do more by having nutrition consultants and by closely monitoring the industry. In conclusion, while restricting the sale of scientifically harmful foods and drinks could play a crucial role in improving public health, I believe a more balanced approach that combines regulation, education, and individual freedom would be more effective.