With the increased global demand in oil and gas, undiscovered areas of the world should be opened up to access more resources. To what extent do you agree?

There is no doubt that opening up new regions for crude mineral exploration would satisfy the increased worldwide need for it. I totally disagree with the notion because the government are yet to maximize to full potential the current explored sites and have failed to properly maintain them. To begin with, the mining practices of certain natural resources hasn't been impressive over the past two decades. Thus, this has resulted in increased pollution due to poor maintenance. For instance, The Economist Newspaper in 2008 revealed that over 40% of land and water pollution were as a result of these activities. Thereby leading to the loss of lives of humans, animals and even aqua habitats. Another point to consider is the lack of provision for people displaced. In other words, because all lands are held in trust by the government for the people and they have the right to revoke an occupier's right of occupancy for the benefit of the public; thus, this has left many homeless and has caused the death of many. Of course, the authorities have the power but should also consider the position of affected individuals as well. For example, sometime in 2016 during the bitumen exploration project in the North Central Region of Nigeria, asset owners were promised compensation for the value of their property which was never paid to date. In conclusion, although the expansion into these fresh zones would bring more jobs and boost economic growth. However, a proper environmental impact assessment should be carried out to know the impact and extent of such a decision.