TODAY MANY PEOPLE WORK UNTIL A LATE AGE. DO ADVANTAGES OUTWEIGH DISADVANTAGES. GIVE REASONS.

In many parts of the world, people still work after their retirement age. Some argue that this would help them to be stable both economically and psychologically, while others say that they should spend their last years of life with their families. In my opinion, there are more advantages than disadvantages for the elderly still working. To begin with, Elderly working is of great benefit to families and wider societies. First of all, they become more independent thus, creating less burden on families and societies. Besides, they pass on their experiences, skills, and knowledge to the younger workers. Some say that this also concerns countries with problems of labor shortages. For instance, in Japan, a major workforce is aged above 65. Employing this age group will bring useful suggestions to the company due to elderly people's experiences and exposures. Even though it benefits a lot, it also has some disadvantages. One major drawback is employing the elderly will hinder the development of the talent of youngsters as fewer job opportunities are available for them. Nevertheless, this could be overcome by various organizations by increasing the availability of jobs. Secondly, elder people would become less enthusiastic and energetic as they reach their late 60s or 70s leading to the loss of potential ability to cop with technological innovations and adaptations. Lastly, since they are in the golden years of their life they should spend more time with their relatives and families rather than having hectic schedules. To conclude, the elderly contribution to the development of the country through their work even after retirement age has both negative as well as positive sides.