Some people think that renewable energy sources like solar and wind power should replace fossil fuels such as coal and gas as soon as possible. Others think we should continue to use fossil fuels while it is still cheap to do so. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, using fossil fuels, such as coal and gas, can have a detrimental impact on the environment. Therefore, many people believe that renewable energy should be used in lieu of fossil fuels, while others believe that they should use fossil fuels as they are cheap. In this essay, I will elaborate on both standpoints and give my thoughts about this issue. On the one hand, alternative energy sources have several benefits. First of all, it can improve the environment around the world. In fact, clean energy sources do not produce as many emissions as coal and gas, and in some cases, they are carbon-free. As a result, less harmful gases are discharged into the atmosphere and the soil, reducing both air and soil pollution. Second, there is an abundance of renewable energy. Specifically, there is no need to worry about scarcity because some energy that comes from the sun or wind is limitless, unlike fossil fuels, which are nearly exhausted. On the other hand, fossil fuels still play a vital role in people's lives. To begin with, fossil fuels are now the most used energy sources in the world because they are affordable and easy to obtain, especially essential for least developed and developing countries. For instance, according to the BBC, in 2023, 92.6% of all activities in the world are operated by fossil fuels, such as generating electricity or making machines. In other words, fossil fuels are the major energy sources in the world, and there has been no alternative energy that can be compared to them until now. In conclusion, both renewable energy and fossil fuels have some advantages in various aspects; however, I believe that renewable energy sources like solar or wind should be prioritized more in order to surpass the performance of fossil energy to protect the environment.