Many people believe that bicycle is a healthy and environmentally-friendly mode of transport. However, it is no longer the main form of transport. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among the wider population?

Much as a large number of people the world over know the benefits of riding a bicycle for the health and the environment, a bicycle is not considered a vital mode of transport. This is mainly because of not having separate lanes and parking facilities for bikes in many countries. However, people should be motivated by taking the necessary steps by governments and other authorities. One of the compelling reasons for not riding bikes for everyday commuting is that in most nations there is no separate road dedicated for bicycles. As a consequence, many accidents occur when riders have to ride bicycles on the road with heavy vehicles, such as buses, trucks, lorries, to name but a few. For example, an empirical study conducted by Oxford University reveals that 80% of bicycles accidents occur only because of having dedicated bicycles pathways. Apart from that many employees and students do not feel interested to take their bikes to their destinations down to not having secure parking spaces for bicycles. Hence, because of insecurity and high chances of road accidents, bicycles are not becoming a main form of transport. To reverse this undesirable situation, authorities from every level should wage effective actions. For a start, governments ought to construct separate streets only for bicycles and connect those lanes to every area so that residents do not need to ride with public and private transports. To exemplify, in the Netherlands, the country of bicycles, because of dedicated bike roads, the number of accidents dropped to 1% in 2021. As well as that, every organization and educational institution should build separate bicycle parking spaces on their premises in order to exhort people to use their bikes for travelling. In this way, citizens would be motivated to use bikes as a main mode of transport. In conclusion, inasmuch lack of dedicated bicycles roadway and parking, people do not use bikes that can be solved by taking the proper steps by authorities.