In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centers or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or a negative development?

During the twentieth century, as populations expanded and more people moved to the city, life changed in many ways, including how we go shopping. While previously people would purchase what they needed at small, local shops, by the end of the century people were primarily shopping at larger malls and superstores. This essay will argue that it is neither a positive nor a negative development: in fact, it is simply a natural change. The main argument against this sort of change is that smaller outlets are run by individuals or families, whereas large malls and supermarkets are operated by huge national or multinational conglomerates. Small business owners are being squeezed out of the market by these huge corporate entities. This also causes a situation where the personal aspect of smaller stores is lost, and the high streets lose their character as department stores that have been around for decades or longer. suddenly close. Each town begins to look more like the next. However, it is not all bad. These vast stores offer far more choices and better prices than smaller ones. Deli could offer. In addition, they specialize in customer service so although they may not be. entirely personal, the staff are well-trained to deal with a wide variety of situations. These department stores can offer a greater level of convenience for customers and cater to the population with disabilities more easily. In conclusion, it is understandable that many communities are upset by the phenomenon of small showrooms. closing, but it is not necessarily a negative development. There are some positives to this situation as well.