The key to solving environmental problems is for the present generation to sacrifice their convenient lifestyle for the sake of future generations. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is said that some changes must certainly be made to current lifestyles to save the environment, this may not require the people today to live a less comfortable life and may even benefit and enrich both the current and next generations. I completely disagree with the fact that these types of changes bring inconvenience to the current generation. People today can opt to rely on public transportation instead of using their private cars on a daily basis. Many governments have improved the mass transportation options available and kept the rates low. Therefore, people can reduce their carbon footprint and decrease environmental pollution by not using cars to travel. In fact, this adjustment in their lifestyle not only benefit them by lowering their costs, but also has a positive impact on the environment at no significant burden to them. In addition, progress in technology makes it easy to save the environment with a slight change in lifestyle with no reduction in the comfort level. For example, biodegradable plastics have been recently invented to replace the old plastic products that pollute the environment. The new products have the exact function as the older ones, so there would be no discomfort by the transition made, whilst still managing to contribute to protecting the environment. On the other hand, there are some changes in the lifestyle that lessen the convenience of the current generation. Taking for instance the use of air transport which release tons of carbon dioxide, many times more than a road journey over the same distance does. However, most individuals are not frequent travellers and this change would not bring so many negative consequences on their convenience but a huge positive impact on the environment. To conclude, whilst I believe that the present generation needs to make lifestyle changes to reduce environmental issues, I disagree that these advances will be a burden to them.