Some people think that in this modern world people are getting dependent on each other, while others think that people are becoming more independent. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The belief that modernity has fostered interdependence over-dependence can only be viewed from a personal perspective. Human relationships, whether more intimate or isolated impact the general public in different ways. I would say that individuals in modern society can be deemed both ‘more dependent’ and ‘more independent’, depending on the aspects of life from which they view society today. From the perspective of material life, the younger generation does appear to be more reliant upon others to assist them in coping with the very real problems that life today presents. The youngsters today, particularly that residing in metropolitan cities, are frustrated by prohibitively high living costs like rental rates and various bills, which forces them to share flats with peers or remain living under the same roof with their parents even after finding gainful employment. Worse still, even those with higher incomes may not survive without others’ help. The increasingly fast-paced workplace has locked many commuters into a lifestyle of office over time, which leads to dependence on babysitters or family members to support their personal household – whether these be childcare, cleaning and household maintenance. So, even though independently wealthy, they must also rely on the community to support their lifestyle. However, that is not the whole story – from another spectrum, modern society has also promoted self-reliance in individuals. The life pressures mentioned above may also engender the solitary lifestyle; there are those who prefer to live alone. This priority would lead them to rent a low-cost apartment and forego a family. Away from the economic concern, intellectual independence is another issue: Accessibility to information and protocols in the digital environment allows modern individuals to scrutinize divergent views and therefore develop their own opinions, rather than merely being passive followers of others’ voices. It is my opinion, then, it is the personal life choices and values that motivate people to be more or less independent in today’s world; these lifestyle choices will govern their proclivity toward dependence or independence.