Nowadays, the crime rate is increasing, especially among teenagers. What are the reasons behind it? How can we reverse this trend? What punishment methods should be used, in your opinion.

There is no doubt that illegal activities are on the rise these days which has been accomplished by more youngsters than other age groups. This essay will examine the causes and solutions to such societal issues with illustrations of valid punishments according to teenagers’ crimes. Firstly, due to working parents, the young generation grows in a lack of attention and unlimited technological exposure. This causes less social and emotional knowledge among teenagers because fewer family interactions and extreme exposure to inappropriate events through electronic devices lead them to indulge in wrongdoings without knowing the consequences. For example, a survey focused on criminal mind adolescents’ psychological conditions, published by Harvard University explained that the youngsters who have less or negligible family or social relationships, but unsupervised access to digital devices are more prone to engage in criminal activities than others. Consequently, without proper guidance from adults, one can easily get involved in misconduct. To tackle such a situation, firstly, caretakers must supervise their younger ones including limitations on the access to communications devices at home. Next, giving children sufficient time and affection to calm their intense feelings, at the end of the day, is similarly significant to mould one’s behaviour into decent. Moreover, parents and teachers must share the educational aspects regarding unethical activities and their consequences containing penalties on different types of crime that deter the young generation to do something wrong up to a certain extent. In conclusion, I opine that the punishment criteria should be fixed according to the intensity of the crime. For instance, volunteer social services and financial liabilities are required for such young criminals who are involved in minor crimes without harming somebody intentionally and have chances of improvement in their behaviours for society in every aspect. However, there are minor age delinquents who have psychological imbalance and a high tendency to hurt people without any chance to improve, they need punishments in the long term.