Some people think that the Olympics is no longer necessary in the 21st century. ‎To what extent do you agree or disagree?‎

Sports are not only playing but also watching brings excitement to people. A particular example is the Olympic games that most people are looking forward to every four years. Contrastly, it is fact that some argue that the Olympics is no longer necessary in the 21st century. I personally think that the Olympics has several merits and is needed for the following reasons. Firstly, the Olympics has a significant impact on the local economy. For instance, although the summer game 'Tokyo 2020' was postponed to 2021 and shrunk its size due to the COVID situation, it was initially expected 100 billion economic incomes by holding the game. The Olympic games can stipulate the stagnated economy of the developed countries as well as it can be a trigger of the growth of the country if it is held in the developing countries. This is to say, having the games would lead the countries to further blooming, and thus,many countries are proactively lobbying and keen to be the host country. Secondly, the Olympics is often deemed as a symbol of peace, and in fact, it helps to mitigate the friction of the countries. In the case of two Koreas, north and south, they had been facing a diplomatic stalemate over the decade. However, South Korea succeeded to invite the delegation from North Korea for its Pyon-Chang winter game held in 2017, and it is still a fresh memory that the former U.S. President Donald Trump met with the head of North Korea by utilizing the impetus of the Olympic ceasefire occurred between two Koreas. The Olympics is one of the effective ways particularly in the modern era that is happening conflicts many places to draw one side to the stage of the dialogue because sports are common for all nations. To summarize, as aforementioned, the Olympics has a significant impact on the economy and it plays a role in a ceasefire, in other words, it brings peace. For these reasons, I do not concur with the statement that the Olympics is no longer necessary in the 21st century.