International travel has many advantages to both travellers and the country that they visited. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

With the remarkable development of the global transport industry, international tourism has become popular as people can travel to anywhere around the world. It is believed that tourism has brought numerous boons to the local economy while some locals concede that the disadvantages of travel outweigh its benefits. In my opinion, I am in strong agreement with the former notion as tourists play a pivotal role in the development of many nations. I shall put forth some ideas to demonstrate my points in the following paragraph. To begin with, travel is considered as a leverage that boosts the local economy of many developed and developing countries. It is true that the number of tourists has a strong influence on the prosperity of various local businesses such as restaurants, hotels and bars. The more visitors travel to an area, the more businesses are established. As a result, traveling helps enhance the employment rate of an area as many locals are hired by these restaurants, hotels or bars. For example, Bali is considered as one of the well-known destinations in Indonesia that welcomes millions of tourist yearly. As a result, a plethora of luxurious resorts have been constructed that offer thousand jobs to the indigenous people. Moreover, thanks to curious tourists, many traditional handmade industries have been recovered and become more popular around the world. In addition to this, many cultural exchange activities will be taken place between tourists and local inhabitants. On the other hand, there are also negative points that tourism may bring to the local areas. The natural environment may be polluted or destroyed due to the uncontrolled exploitation of local authorities and irresponsible tourists. Administrations may have to deal with a large amount of waste from tourists that may affect local habitat. Without adequate measurements and preventions, these stunning and natural destinations may be vanished permanently. Nevertheless, the increase of crime may be another concern. More tourists may lead to the rise of various types of criminals such as thief, abduction or prostitution. A typical example is Ho Chi Minh city in Vietnam where the number of reported crime has increased dramatically due to the growth of tourists in recent years. In conclusion, it is undeniable that tourism has contributed to the amendment of the global economy and helped to boost the profit of many companies. However, governments need to implement strict rules to both locals and tourists in order to protect the natural environment.