More and more people no longer read the newspaper or watch TV programs to get news. They get news about the world through the internet. Is this a positive or negative development?

With the advent of technology, a large number of people the world over prefer to get news through the internet rather than watching television or reading newspapers. Being a rational mind, I wholeheartedly feel that this phenomenon is a positive development because of having opportunities to get instant information at any time from anywhere. One of the compelling reasons for choosing the internet over any other media is the facility to access information immediately. This is because, nowadays, reporters can upload any news instantly from the spots via their smartphones and the internet. That is not possible in the case of TV programmes or news in order to keep themselves up-to-date. To cite an example, an empirical study by Oxford University reveals that 90% of the British citizens decide about the investment in the share market by collecting the latest information from the online portals because it would be too late if they had to make decisions based on the next day newspaper. Another cogent reason is that people do not have to give dedicated time for getting everyday news by watching TV or reading magazines. These days, people can get any news from anywhere by sitting in their comfort zones through their gadgets. To exemplify a survey conducted by British Council has found that 75% of Bangladeshi residents, used to read newspaper in the morning, are likely to do other morning activities, such as walking, taking children to school because it is now possible to know any vital update through the notification system of online newspapers. As a consequence, individuals can now devote their valuable time to more productive areas only because of the blessing of the internet. In conclusion, giving importance to the internet rather than the newspaper or TV for getting news is indubitably a positive growth in that people are receiving instant news and getting chances to do more tasks.