Task 2: Young people who commit crimes should be treated in the same way as adults who commit crimes. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Juvenile delinquency is an issue of broad interest to the general public. Some people advocate that the government should impose the same punishments on young offenders as adult lawbreakers. Personally, I partly agree with this point of view. To a certain extent, the juvenile culprits should suffer the consequences differently compared with mature ones. Admittedly, not every adolescent has sufficient intellect. Some young perpetrators take part in illegal acts just because of curiosity, copying adults’ behaviours, or committing a petty crime to escape poverty. And, of course, they do not realize their misdeeds and fully make out the adverse consequences of their offences. Thus, giving these juvenile lawbreakers a harsh sentence is deemed not a fair trial. Nonetheless, I believe that the young perpetrator should receive the same punishments as do adult criminals. A great number of young people under 18, especially those in rural and mountainous areas, take advantage of the leniency in law to commit a crime. A salient example can be seen in Vietnam; the courts will give felons under 18 a much lighter sentence than that applied to a person aged full 18 years or older who commits the corresponding crime. Thus, even at 12-to-15s, many children do not feel fear and continue committing crimes such as stealing, trading, using, and possessing drugs or heroin. While children are our future, they should be deterred by solid measures like adult offenders to soon get off the path of sin. In conclusion, a fitting punishment can act as a deterrent to deter the young from committing crimes. I think that the government should impose light penalties on young offenders, compared with heavier ones of the adult lawbreakers.