Extreme sports such as sky diving and skiing are very dangerous and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

It is part of our human nature to be easily mesmerised by thrilling experiences. The frenzy of extreme sports is a perfect demonstration of this point. However, based on the high level of danger, some people argue that these activities should be banned once and for all. In this essay, I will explain why doing so would be irrational. First of all, the logic behind this idea is plain to the eye: extreme sports should be prohibited because of the inflicted threat to the players’ life, which appears to be understandable at first glance. Nevertheless, on second thought, it is easy to see the irrationality in preventing people from doing what they enjoy when these hobbies are not affecting others in any negative way. Furthermore, although there are indeed fanatic thrill-seekers, it is still our inborn instinct to preserve our life instead of risking it, which explains the existence and prevalence of the meticulous—and sometimes very heavy, as far as I can tell from my own mountain skiing experience—safety measures taken in these sports. The strengthened ropes in the case of bungee jumping and the thick helmet used in high-speed motorcycles are typical examples. Instead of putting a ruthless ban on these exciting sports, risking the violation of legitimate personal freedom, governments can meet the goal of protecting citizens’ safety through scientifically designed regulations. This can be done by, for instance, passing acts that strictly regulate the certification of training staff and the procurement and maintenance of devices used in these thrilling activities. With better-qualified trainers and high-quality sports facilities, players can enjoy the much appreciated heart-beating experience without having to overly ponder upon safety issues. To sum up, it would be overdoing to outlaw the practice of extreme sports in which so many people find pleasure. A more sensible solution would be proper management that guarantees public well-being, both physically and mentally.