Today food travels thousands of miles from the farm to the consumers. Why is this? Is it a positive or negative trend?

It is not uncommon these days to have access to a food item that has originated in another continent. This is primarily because of the inability of the consuming country to produce it independently. This essay will argue why this is a negative development as its availability becomes a concern in case of any emergency. Moreover, when it is not home-grown, the consumer is forced to pay extra for it because of the expense involved in its transportation. To begin with, a number of countries are not agrarian economies and hence, have to import crops. When confronted with unforeseen circumstances, the disruption in the supply chain affects the availability of dishes that are prepared from them. To illustrate, during the corona pandemic, the Indian diaspora in Singapore was deprived of Indian cuisine. This was attributed mainly to the inability of the country to import crops from India as cargo carriers had come to a halt due to the imposition of lockdown. Therefore, the availability of a staple meal becomes a major concern in case of an emergency when it has to be bought from another nation. In the same vein, the end-user, consuming a popular cuisine that is not local, must pay extra to incur its travel cost. The cost of logistics gets added to its selling price when an item is brought over from a foreign land. For instance, Singapore incurs taxes when it brings in crops like rice and wheat from India. This expense is eventually borne by the customers. Therefore, catering to a particular diaspora with a certain dish can cost a fortune for a nation that is not a producer of the raw materials required for its production. To conclude, certain local dishes have a huge global appeal and are consumed outside of their shores. This can be attributed to the inability of the consuming country to produce them independently. This is a worrying trend as their availability can become a concern when confronted with an unprecedented situation. Furthermore, the end-user has to pay extra in order to recover the expense of its transportation.