in some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

"Hard work makes good work" has always been an important lesson that adults teach to their children. Parents often share a belief about potential, that one can achieve anything if enough work is put into it, and they want their kids to believe that as well. This, even though is capable of doing many goods, undoubtedly has drawbacks. One advantage of telling children the abovementioned is giving them self-confidence. Self-confidence can help protect a person from doubt and anxiety. One with great confidence in himself can be more willing to make daring attempts at works and take smart risks. It will also allow him to be able to leave his comfort zone. All of those are essential qualities that one should possess to be able to achieve success in what he was doing. To illustrate, Jack Ma, the founder of Alibaba, was made to believe that his capabilities exceed what he always imagined. This trust has later contributed to creating a massive empire as it is now. However, self-confidence can often lead to overconfidence. One of the results of having too much confidence is the inability to compromise. When one believes that he is right, he will not listen or accept other opinions, dismissing them as unworthy of his attention. He might also miss opportunities, as people with overconfidence as a problem tend to view projects as too simple or beneath their abilities. The opposite is true as well, with that person takes on different works, thinking that he can finish them, even though he lacks the necessary skills and experience. In conclusion, although telling children that they can accomplish anything they try hard for can give them confidence, it can surely turn them into those with too high thoughts about themselves.