In the past, most people lived in small villages where everyone knew everyone else. Nowadays, most people live in a large cities where they only know a few people in their are. What do you think were the advantages and disadvantages of living in a small community.

In the olden days, people use to live in and with their communities and stay in close contact with their neighborhood. In the recent past, it has become a common trend that people move out from their native places and settle down somewhere else because of many reasons like better job opportunities, job transfers, to pursue higher studies. And these migrated families know lesser about people who live in their locality or nearby. There are many advantages of living in a small community and disadvantages as well. In this essay, I will pen down both followed by my views on this. Firstly, to list down the benefits of staying in your inherited place, the first and the foremost benefit is that you stay connected with the people you and your forefathers know. During tough days or in the time of need we can trust them and seek their advice. We can extend our helping hand and share our sorrows and celebrate our joys. We stay connected to our roots and beliefs. There are fewer chances of conflicts that may arise due to differences in our value system. There is no communication barrier like language. Our thought process work in the same direction when we live in small communities, if not then it is comparably easy to convince a small group of people from the same origin as compared to a bigger group who belong to different regions or places. At the same time, there are some disadvantages of living in small communities. When we are living with the same set of people for generations and we don’t move out, then there is a very little scope that we know or learn new things. In absence of the knowledge of different things, lesser innovations will take place. Bigger cities are known for multi-cultural communities living together and by living together we get to know about other communities, their language, their food habits, their religion, history and after knowing other we value them more and we will learn to live with harmony. To sum up, after knowing all the pros and cons of living in small communities, It is undeniable that there are more disadvantages overweigh its benefits. No territorial restrictions should be there in the way we know, think, learn and make new things.