Because of falling birth rates and better healthcare, the world’s population is getting steadily older and this trend is going to cause serious problems for society. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

an ageing population due to a decline in birth rate and the development in healthcare services can have detrimental effects on society.I partially agree with the above notion and the reasons for my partial disagreement are discussed in the following paragraphs. On one hand, there can be a negative consequence of the world's population growing older with the decline in the number of newborns. Firstly, a job market can be brutally impacted where employers in the society suffer from the scarcity of young candidates filled with enthusiasm. This is because of a birthrate reduction across the globe, which ensures a drastic decline of young and adults fit for employment in the near future whereas improved healthcare lengthens the life span of older people who do not fit for many jobs modern-day jobs. For instance, Canada has experienced a significant birthdate drop in the last decade where 68% of the population was above 60. This situation influenced the Canadian job market. On the other hand, a ratio of a high number of old age and less number of birth can also benefit society. With the decline in newborns, society has become more peaceful and crime-free all across the globe. This is because older people are less likely to attempt crime whereas 95% of criminals across the world are youngsters and adults. Therefore, a slow ageing population with fewer birthrate ensures a secure society with a significant decline in offensive activities. Conclusively, although static ageing of the world's population may not be able to fulfil a demand of job market seeking for young ones, a society certainly becomes more livable by their existence