Many people prefer to stay in a hotel. What are the benefits and drawbacks of staying in a hotel compared with renting an apartment? What is your view on this? What do you prefer? Give reasons for your answer.

It is absolutely evident, that the global tourism industry is slowly recovering from the Covid-19 pandemic and over the last couple of years people have started travelling again. Having said that, with the tremendous popularity of services like Airbnb most travellers nowadays prefer renting an apartment rather than staying in a hotel. However, is it just a fad that will inevitably fade away over time, or is it the ultimate solution for tourists? From one point of view, hotels indeed have a lot of disadvantages in comparison with apartments. For example, they are typically more expensive, kitchenless and can lack basic home appliances. Furthermore, the rooms themselves may look very bland or too sterile, and on many occasions, the pictures on websites do not match the reality. In contrast, renting apartments usually have a lived-in feel to them, which not only creates a certain aura among the tenants, making them feel cosy, but it makes the place much more affordable. From another point of view, booking a hotel totally eliminates the possibility of scams and gives a sense of security to potential tourists. Moreover, in many cases, hotels provide a myriad of services, like airport transfer, breakfast and dinner, room cleaning, beauty kits, and international adapters. In addition, while the overall price of booking may be higher than rent, not only does it save a lot of time and effort, but it also makes a trip feel like a special occasion. In conclusion, I firmly believe that booking a hotel is a much more superior option to renting an apartment. While I totally understand the necessity to save money on accommodation when travelling, it should not harm the comfort and overall experience of a potential trip.