It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Old monuments have a great place in the history of any country. It involves a great amount of money to repair them as they have become old in nature. Such money should be used to construct new buildings instead of repairing the older ones. I completely disagree with this statement and provide reasons for the same in the forthcoming paragraphs as old buildings represent the history and culture of the respective nations. The primary reason that helps to understand the importance of the old buildings is the architecture of those buildings. To be more precise, old generation renowned architects have thought through end-to-end to build such monuments without using any machinery or automation, moreover they are very strong in nature to date. A historical monument, for instance, Charminar built by Nizams in the year 1656 is still a centre of attraction for Hyderbad city, which cannot be built in the same fashion if demolished. The impact of these kinds of actions are irreversible and will be treated as a foolish act in the history of any country. The other critical reason to safeguard the old structures is they are considered to be revenue generation spots. Many ancient buildings are considered tourist locations to attract visitors across the globe to improve the destination countries economy. One of the seven wonders of the world is located in India, for example, the Taj Mahal generates rupees 100 crores per month for that nation, using which the monument can be maintained without any burden to the government. Thus, the historical structures are considered to be a valuable addition to any city for its growth. In conclusion, some people are of the opinion that it is an expensive task to maintain the old buildings through continuous repairs and suggest building new structures instead. I completely disagree with such a suggestion as they represent our history and are also considered to be a revenue-generating aspect for any nation, in addition, a few moments spent at these locations can be nostalgic for many people.