It is too expensive to look after and repair old buildings. This money should be spent on building modern buildings instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Ancient monuments are the prominent evidence of our rich and great history; this architecture should be preserved and well-maintained to keep the past alive. However, some people argue that the hefty money that is spent on these old buildings should be used to construct new ones which coincide with today's world. I totally disagree with the notion for the reasons which are explained in the following paragraphs. To begin with, the aged structures enhance the beauty and profoundness of a nation; history researchers and tourists all around the globe get lured by the art and craft of this architecture. For instance, Taj Mehal is one of the seven wonders of the world and the key attraction for numerous travellers from other nations, it ensures the magnificent lifestyle of Indias' emperors. Nevertheless, these buildings are not only the pride of the nation but also contribute to the economy of the country by generating revenues. The innovation of old buildings could ruin their original value and look similar to others. Alongside, if all the ancient buildings get reconstructed in the same manner, then the world's countries lose their uniqueness. The similarities in the appearance would be demotivated the tourists to travel to others territories. On the other hand, these monuments are the impeccable source of knowledge and civilisation; imparting invaluable information to the youngsters regarding the civic nature of their forefathers enrich their importance. Also, destruction of the buildings in order to build modern ones might be kind of disrespectful towards our ancestors. To conclude then, undoubtedly, a big chunk should of money is needed in response to maintain old sculptures; however, considering the importance of the buildings in generating revenues and the richness of the cultural value would definitely encourage the government authorities to preserve and maintain these valuable and magnificent monuments.