THE WORLD TODAY IS A SAFER PLACE THAN IT WAS A HUNDRED YEARS AGO, AND GOVERNMENT SHOULD STOP SPENDING LARGE AMOUNTS OF MONEY ON THEIR ARMED FORCES. To what extent do you agree.

While it can be generally accepted that the present days are safer than they were in the past hundred years, several suggestions such as asking the government to halt funding the armed forces are being spread by many. However, I completely disagree with this statement because, beyond wars, the military is part of the important security architectures of any nation. To begin, over the past few decades excluding what is currently happening in the Middle East, many continents have experienced serenity and have fought fewer wars, unlike the trend in the 19th century. Many might have considered governmental financial commitments in the Air Force as a mere waste of resources for many reasons. One is that many count them as unimportant. For instance, more than 200 million dollars worth of new fighter jets were recently purchased by the Egyptian government with no intention to use them anytime soon. Meanwhile, these funds could have been directed into another thing for economic growth. Although it might look like unwise spending on the part of the authorities, I strongly oppose this opinion. Whether there is war or not, military upgrading is a critical sector of any country that wants to dominate and protect its citizens, and intentional withdrawal of monetary support from them is a form of self-sabotage to any government. Also, nowadays, terrorist attacks and rumours of war are looming at every corner. Therefore, adequate preparation and meeting up with other countries' security standards is paramount. For example, the United States recently beefed up their nuclear weapons upon hearing that Russia has added more. With this, they stand a chance to overcome threats from anywhere. In conclusion, securing a state is not an option for any serious country, so, expansion and development at all levels including in the military are key to promoting a safe society.