Some people think that it is necessary to travel abroad to learn about other countries, but other people think that it is not necessary to travel abroad because all the information can be seen at TV and the internet. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

It is an irrefutable fact that rapid technological development is altering our lifestyles. When it comes to travelling, a segment of society is convinced that there is no necessity to travel in person anymore, since all the information is accessible on the TV and the internet. Others, however, believe the opposite. The following paragraphs will analyze both approaches before making a final note. On the one hand, nobody can deny the fact that travelling is more than an audio-visual experience. First and foremost, people can understand the country and culture in different ways. By eating the local food, meeting new people and having long conversations with them, taking the local transport, and more. After all, the purpose of travelling is to experience everything firsthand. Secondly, during a visit to another country people can experience new places with all their senses. Take, for example, going to the seaside. I have seen the sea many times on TV, but when I have been on the beach in real, I had totally different feelings. On the other hand, many people cannot afford travelling, because of their financial situations, or because they cannot take vacations from their workplaces. Therefore, as TV and the internet are offering an inexhaustible amount of information about different countries and cultures, people can enjoy watching documentaries and shows instead of travelling. This has a number of benefits. For instance, watching a documentary about wildlife in Amazon forests is cost-efficient compared to visiting it in person. Additionally, within 30 min of watching a BBC documentary, individuals can learn and know much more than 3 days-long visits. To conclude, travelling can fulfil our basic need for adventure to live life to the full. Thus, I believe that the traditional way of travelling can never be replaced by the internet and TV.