Space research is a waste of money. The government should spend money on improving conditions of people living on Earth. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many citizens hold the view that it is wasteful for the government to spend money on space research because there are still several serious problems on Earth to solve. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this perspective and I believe that the living standard of individuals is more essential to take care of. On the one hand, those who believe that it is worth allocating money to space research have many reasons to justify their position. First, the universe is vast, so we could find some useful information to improve our lives and widen our knowledge if we know more about what is outside the Earth. For instance, the satellites can locate some mineral deposits and fuel sources. By it, people can have a better understanding of elements or physical phenomena in the universe, so they can apply them in fields such as energy, health, environment materials, etc. On the other hand, I assert that governments should invest money in the conditions of people living as humanity is the priority. This is because the public finances are limited, so they need to use it wisely for other essential things such as infrastructure, security, education, etc. By doing it, the country will have a well-educated workforce who can not only be able to take care of themselves, but also make a great contribution to the prosperity of the nation and social harmony. Thus, spending money on space research is not necessary as we may gain nothing from it, though we putin alot of time and effort. It is also harmful to the environment if we conduct more rocket launch activities, it can generate emissions and noises affecting human health. To sum up, space research can bring huge benefits to mankind. I am of the opinion that governments should use that money to develop the facility. By doing so, the planet will become a better place to live and become more peaceful.