Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no doubt that being multilingual can be benificial in a lot of ways. Although some believe that this skill is useful just for tourits or migrant workers, I would strongly agrue agree that this plays a crucial role in having a good social life while living abroad. To begin with, those who believe a new speech should be learnt for the sole purpose of travelling or working abroad might argue that this provides an ample amount of job opportunities to aspiring migrants. This happens because, many overseas companies perfer a candidate who knows the local tongue for effective workplace communication. For instance, understanding of german is a mandatory job requirement in most of the German and Austrian companies. In contrast, if someone applies for an overseas job without the knowledge of required language, their probability of getting selected will decrease. On the other hand, I firmly believe that knowing the local tongue can have a major impact on improving one's social life. The reason for this is, a multilingual person would be able to communicate comfortably when interacting with new people, and hence make more friends. One clear example is, while living abroad someone who knows the local dialect is able to connect well and socialise effortlessly. Alternatively, if a person had not learnt the local dialect, it would have diminished their chances of socialising, leading to them feeling lonely and depressed. In conclusion, knowing local language can help while visiting a new country or applying for a job overseas, It can not be denied that being multingual can definitely increase the chances of having a superior social life due to ease of communication.