University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

Moving abroad to study in other institutes around the world has become a popular trend among university students. Despite being a unique and mind-opening opportunity towards new cultures and lifestyles, getting a degree in a foreign country can be costly. In my opinion, however, the benefits of making such a gratifying and formative experience far exceed the economic drawbacks. Studying abroad can be a life-changing event, where students learn diverse cultural backgrounds and develop a more inclusive viewpoint. Being in an unfamiliar environment will push these youths outside their comfort zone, developing their social, communicative and lateral thinking skills that they could have never acquired in their natural setting. In defence of this thesis, recent research claims that alumni who chose to enroll in international institutes are more likely to have a successful career later: in fact, they are more capable of adapting to novel situations than their peers. Therefore, these ultra-challenging encounters are paradoxically the main advantage of studying overseas due to the fact they encourage one to grow as a person. The major disadvantage of studying in a foreign country is, doubtlessly, that students need to face significant economic expenses included in the whole experience, such as booking the ticket, paying for accommodation rent and university enrollment fees. For this reason, students can be discouraged to pack up and leave, as they find staying in their local institute more practical. For example, when I planned to study in Canada, I found out that international students who apply to university programs need to pay exorbitantly expensive fees. For these reasons, the main disadvantage of choosing an international academic career is that scholars ought to deal with financial hurdles, requiring them to own a considerable sum of money when they leave their home country. To conclude, gaining higher education in a different country has become incredibly common. Although it requires high-cost expenses, youths gain unrepeatable opportunities that enrich their personal development and curricula. These reasons make the experience of studying abroad worth all the financial hindrances, as the advantages far outweigh the disadvantages.