Now days more and more people buy and use their own cars . Do you think the advantage of this trend for individual outweigh its disadvantages for the environment ??

In our modern society, the average population has their personal vehicle. Although this is a sign of human progress on an individual level, it is opinionable for the environment's effects. This essay will discuss why the benefits for each individual do not outweigh the environmental drawbacks. Owning a car is related to a person's wealth and outlines an improvement in human possibilities as a society. A few decades ago, having a car was a true luxury, and only a few portions of the population could afford it. The technological and industrial development reduced the price of vehicles pushing more people to buy them. Nowadays, owning a car is more cost-effective and practical than using public transportation. Consequentially, a considerable slice of the population prefers driving to their destination by themselves. If every single person on the planet had a car, the earth would be unliveable. Unhopefully, traffic congestion, formation of smog and air pollution all come from car usage. To illustrate this, take the city of Milan in Italy into account: during last year, as the lockdown was promulgated, people stopped using their cars. In the same period, the air quality of the city improved to positive values like never before. Therefore, the redundant implementation of cars can be critically bad for the environment. To conclude, having a car has become a viral trend among the modern population, although this is not always good news for our planet. In my opinion, the comfort gained on an individual scale can not stand against the unnecessary damage we are causing to the environment as a whole.