The internet has changed the way we communicate. Much communication today happens through social media. Some people support this and think it is a positive development. Others believe that social media have negative effects. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

The advancement of the internet and technology has revolutionised our ways of communication by using various social media. Although many people believe social media have numerous drawbacks to our life, I personally think that their advantages outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand, there is no doubt that there are some negative impacts caused by social media. One obvious thing is time-consuming that a large number of citizens, especially the youth, spend on surfing the net or scrolling their phones. For example, Facebook or Instagram nowadays have been widespread around the world and surfing them has become an indisputable habit of many people who spend at least several hours a day writing statuses or checking other's information. Therefore, this habit might make humans manage their time ineffectively. Another negative impact of social media is fraud or fake news that their users are unable to distinguish between reality and fantasy. This issue can be illustrated by numerous victims on Facebook owing to providing their bank accounts or personal details to hackers who commonly use others' information for illegal purposes. On the other hand, I strongly believe that social media bring us huge benefits in many aspects of life. Firstly, it is evident that we can easily communicate by many platforms of media, which remove numerous barriers among different countries or continents. Instead of using normal calls or mailing, we only take several seconds to call by messenger or WhatsApp that save a large amount of money spent every year for calling. Secondly, using social media creates many opportunities for entrepreneurs or businesses to sell their products with a tight budget for marketing. This can be explained by the advertisements or live streams on Facebook which target the right customers without investments in infrastructures or facilities. Lastly, social media could help us update the newest information around the world quickly and acquire knowledge more conveniently which support us in career development or other demands in daily life. In conclusion, despite some remaining limitations, it seems to me that social media renovate our life in different ways.