Some people think that governments should increase the tax on unhealthy food to enhance public health. Do you agree or disagree?

Many recent pieces of research have shown that unhealthy food, including fast food and processed food, is not suitable for health and may cause Obesity. Obesity is considered the mother of many diseases such as diabetes and high blood pressure. Therefore, some people argue that the Government should impose a levy to reduce the purchase of unhealthy food. In my opinion, it is not a feasible approach, and I can't agree with implementing and increasing the food tax because it conceives an extra burden on people's pockets and is challenging for the ruling party to sustain their popularity. Post covid the world economy is declining and keep on declining; as a result, people are working hard to breast up and cope with their living expenses by working hard and may doing two jobs. In such an exhausting situation, giving the extra burden in implementing a levy on food, which is a basic need of life, is inappropriate. When a person is working hard and at the end of the day hard to buy food with extra taxes are unjustified and kind of curbing the fundamental right of living. Furthermore, implementing extra taxes on food is a policy that directly impacts the population's quality of living and will eventually reduce the ruling Government's political party's popularity. Therefore, the following term election will negatively impact the ruling party's vote bank and have higher chances of losing the election and sitting in the opposition rather than in the Government. In conclusion, I reckon that implementing an extra levy on food is not feasible to reduce unhealthy food consumption and improve population health. Indeed, It negatively impacts the people's quality of life and popularity of a nation;'s ruling party.