Some people believe that if a police officer carries guns, it can encourage a higher level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, in many countries the world over, violent activities have increased exponentially down to the availability of guns. Consequently, there has been a growing body of opinion that carrying revolvers by police should not be allowed in that it can cause in raising the level of offensive tasks. Being a rational mind, I, however, take issue with this notion, for I am of the view that if a police officer carries a gun with him, it is possible to deter offenders from committing crimes and to protect people from a sudden attack. Among the ratiocination to buttress my stance, the one that deals with the significance of having guns with police officers as a way of preventing individuals to contemplate about doing any misdeed. In other words, when the general public sees that police is doing their duties on the street with shotguns they stay always alert to obey rules and regulations, bringing peace to a country. To cite an example, in Thailand, when the government allowed the country’s policemen to carry guns all time, the number of eve-teasings decreased by 80% in the same year. Therefore, in order to prevent people from committing crimes, it is inevitable to carry arms by security officers. Another critical rationale in reference to why police officers ought to carry guns every time is necessarily synonymous with protecting individuals from a sudden terrorist attack. That is to say, if policemen do not carry arms with them, they cannot save the residents immediately from the terrorists. Hence, what is the police officers for if the general people do not get protection in any emergency situation? To exemplify, the duty officers did not prevent violence in a hotel in India due to not having guns with them, resulting in the death of 200 people at a time in 2010. Thus carrying guns is pivotal for police so as to give protection immediately. In conclusion, with a view to deterring people from criminal activities and saving the innocent public from attackers, police officers should carry revolvers all time.