Some people think that men and women have different qualities. Therefore, some certain jobs are suitable for men and some jobs are suitable for women. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that some people think that men and women are born with different characteristics which determine what kinds of jobs are open to them. While there are strong arguments to justify this view, I completely disagree that it should apply to the world of work today. There are several reasons why many people believe that men and women have different qualities which affect the range of jobs open to them. In terms of physical strength, women are simply not strong enough to do labour jobs, including driving trucks or working on construction sites. In addition, women are considered to be unsuited to dangerous jobs, and thus, few women enter the army. In terms of traditional stereotypes, some people argue that women are more sensitive and caring than men. Because of this, they tend to enter some professions, namely nursing or the care of children and the elderly. However, nowadays, the workplace has changed dramatically, and I believe that there is no room for outdated attitudes towards the capabilities of men and women. Firstly, women have an equal educational opportunity and gain the same qualifications as men. Therefore, they should have the same chance to reach the top in their chosen fields if they work hard. Secondly, the more modern outlook has broken the traditional barriers that prevent women and men from doing certain professions: truck drivers and construction workers in the case of women; cooking, nusering and cleaning jobs in the case of men. In conclusion, I would argue that there is no room today for gender discrimination, either against women or against men.