some people think the restoration of old buildings take huge amount of government expenditure. It would be more beneficial to use this money for development of new buildings and roads. To what extent do you agree/disagree with this statement?

Nowadays, most countries have legislation banning smoking in public areas, and many people think it is acceptable that if the smoker would like to smoke, they must leave the place. The writer agrees with this policy because this ban is able to protect people who do not smoke from secondhand smoke, and it can reduce the frequency of smoking. The first reason is to protect people who do not smoke from secondhand smoke because many non-smoking people cannot avoid spending time with smokers in their daily life. It may also be possible to take secondhand smoke from their colleagues or family. For this reason, some people have a chance to get lung cancer. For example, my aunt who is a non-smoking person lived with her smoking husband and took a breath of toxic air from his smoke. After,that she got lung cancer, and she still has been cured of the disease. Another reason is numerous smokers usually smoke more than 3 times per day, so finding a place to smoke is important for them. The law banning smoking in public areas is significant to decrease the frequency of smoking. Because of the fact that it is hard to find a place to smoke. Therefore, some of them reduce smoke to once a day when they come back home. For instance, one of my colleagues used to smoke all the time when he was in a club, but since this ban has been announced, it is no longer legal to smoke in public areas. He changed to smoking only twice when he went to a party. All in all, I totally agree with this ban because it prevents non-smoking people from secondhand smoke, and assists smokers to reduce the frequency to smoke.